Natasha Leighl

University of Toronto

Dr. Natasha Leighl is a medical oncologist at the Princess Margaret Cancer Centre, and Professor in the Department of Medicine at the University of Toronto, leads the Princess Margaret Cancer Centre Thoracic Medical Oncology Group and holds the combined hospital/University OSI Pharmaceuticals Foundation Chair in Cancer New Drug Development. She has over 250 peer-reviewed publications, has held (as principal or co-investigator) over $600 million in peer-reviewed grant funding, and has mentored many oncology trainees that have gone on to leadership roles in oncology around the world.

After receiving her MD from the University of Toronto, Canada, Dr. Leighl completed residencies in internal medicine at the University of Calgary and in medical oncology at the University of Toronto. She subsequently completed a Fellowship in Thoracic Oncology with Dr. Frances Shepherd at the Princess Margaret Hospital in Canada, a Fellowship in Clinical Oncology with Prof. Martin Tattersall at the University of Sydney in Australia, and received her MMedSc in Clinical Epidemiology at the University of Newcastle, Australia.

Dr Leighl’s main interest is in developing new treatments in lung cancer. She is involved in clinical studies of novel agents for the treatment of thoracic cancers, has led several international and cooperative group studies in lung cancer and is a member of the Lung Disease Site Group Executive of the Canadian Cancer Clinical Trials Group. She has served as Co-Chair of the CCTG Committee on Economic Analysis, Congress Co-President of the 2018 World Conference in Lung Cancer, and serves on multiple committees including the ASCO Thoracic Guidelines Advisory Group, is co-section editor of The Oncologist and Current Oncology, and the IASLC Career Development Committee. Previously she has served as the Web Editor of the Journal of Thoracic Oncology, on the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada Medical Oncology Examination Board and more. She is also Past President and a Director of Lung Cancer Canada, and served as president from 2009 to 2016.